...
DICTIONARIES & ENCYCLOPEDIAS
|
|
| |
Oxford
Reference Online
|
 |
| |
Quick
reference information and authoritative, in-depth
articles by renowned authors
on economics and business |
|
...
DATA & STATISTICS
|
|
| |
Business World |
|
| |
Summary information on Irish, UK and
US shares - currency information |
| |
|
| |
Datastream Advance 4.0 |
|
| |
Financial and economic information
database. It covers financial instruments, securities and
indicators for over 140 countries and 60 markets
Availability: one dedicated terminal
only in the Library Information Commons (ground floor). Ask at Information
Desk for: "Guide to Essential Features" and
"Guide for Advanced Users" |
| |
|
| |
EcoWin
(Database Guide) |
 |
| |
Economic and
financial data covering more than 100 countries, as well as
aggregates such as Eurozone, Africa, Americas
and World. Collected from more than 800 primary sources, e.g.
national statistical offices, central banks, financial
exchanges, private institutes. Updated daily.
-
Staff &
researchers: install EcoWin software
on your computer (see
installation
instructions). Can only be installed on the DCU
network. It will not work off-campus
-
Students: EcoWin is installed on the PCs in the
Library Information Commons
|
| |
Global Market Information Database
(Euromonitor) |
 |
| |
Business intelligence on countries, consumers and
industries. Statistics and
other information for over 200 countries, with extended
coverage for over 50.
NB: to access GMID, you'll be prompted for your
Username and Password. Accept "Terms and Conditions".
Use the search menus on
the left hand side. (The "Existing Users Log in below" box, only
applies to
personalised features, e.g. saving
searches or creating favourites) |
| |
|
| |
SourceOECD |
 |
| |
Surveys and
statistical information on the countries in the OECD |
| |
|
| |
World Development Indicators
 |
| |
Contains statistical data
for over 600 development indicators and time series data for
over 200 countries and 18 regional country groups. Data include
social, economic, financial, natural resources and
environmental indicators. Results can be scaled, indexed
against a particular year, viewed by percentage change
and charted |
| |
|
| |
[Other
statistics sources] |
|
...
COMPANY INFORMATION
|
|
| |
Business
& Company Resource Center
[NB: limited to 5
simultaneous users] |
| |
Full text company and industry news and information, including company profiles, brand
information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and
periodicals |
| |
|
| |
Business
Source Premier
(through Ebsco) |
 |
| |
Access to almost 5,000 economic, industry and market
reports. Datamonitor analytical reports available
through "Company Profiles" |
| |
|
| |
Factfinder - Companies information |
 |
| |
Irish company information
database. Annual reports for public and semi-state
companies, market prices for quoted companies and
contacts directory for top 5,000 companies |
| |
|
| |
FAME
[
Fame Basic
Searching Guide ] |
|
| |
Company accounts, ratios,
activities, ownership and management for the largest 2.6 million
UK and Irish companies, summary information for a further 1
million smaller businesses |
| |
|
| |
Kompass
[NB: limited to 10 simultaneous users] |
|
| |
Contact details and basic information for 2
million companies in 75 countries, including Ireland
- Search: use Search text (home page), or go to Multi-region
search or Advanced search
- Browse from 50,000 categories by selecting "browse category"
from "Search Type" list in
Search text and Multi-region search options |
| |
|
| |
[Other
company information resources] |
|
...
COUNTRY REPORTS
|
| |
Business
Source Premier |
 |
| |
Archives of OECD Economic
Surveys and OECD Economic Outlook. 14 day embargo on
current access |
| |
|
| |
Economist Intelligence Unit
- Country Reports
(EIU) |
| |
- Ireland, UK, Germany,
France, Spain and Japan: 1996/97 to present
through the EIU link
(Restricted access. Go to "Login" link.
Username/password available at
Information Desk)
- Other countries: embargoed access (6 months) through
Business
Source Premier |
| |
|
| |
Nexis UK |
 |
| |
Reports, profiles, analysis
and news classified by country or region:
-
Reports and profiles:
general economic, financial and political reports on 90+
countries
from Walden Country Reports, and economic and
financial profiles from 70+ financial bodies
from the Quest Economics Database. Use the
Countries
tab, select your country and
source type, and enter your search terms;
- Business
analysis and general news:
search geographically-grouped publications. Go to
Browse Sources
tab, select your country and click on 'Country &
Regional Reports'. Select
your preferred sources, click on
OK-Continue
and enter your search terms |
| |
|
| |
SourceOECD |
 |
| |
The OECD
publishes a wide range of country-related material
either specifically on individual countries themselves,
or containing passages or chapters on them in thematic
works. Most publications concentrate on OECD member countries,
but there is also material on certain non-OECD countries. The main
country-related sources are:
- OECD Economic Surveys: major
survey of individual countries. Go to 'Periodicals' tab
and
select from 'Journals';
- OECD Economic Outlook:
analysis of OECD and selected economies. Sections on
individual
countries. Go to 'Periodicals' tab and select from
'Journals';
- Country studies:
country-related excerpts from wider thematic
publications.
Go to 'Books' tab
and select 'Country studies'.
Archives of surveys and outlooks are available through
Business Source Premier (see above).
For more information on country-related sources go to the
OECD home page and
browse 'By Country' |
|
...
MARKET REPORTS
|
| |
Global Market Information Database
(Euromonitor) |
 |
| |
Market reports, company profiles and
other information for over 200 countries, with extended
coverage for over 50. Business intelligence on
countries, consumers and industries.
NB: to access GMID, you'll be prompted for your
Username and Password. Accept "Terms and Conditions".
Use the search menus on
the left hand side. (The "Existing Users Log in below" box, only
applies to
personalised features, e.g. saving
searches or creating favourites) |
| |
|
| |
Nexis UK |
 |
| |
Access to a number of market
research sources, including ICC Keynote,
MarketResearch.com and Worldwide Market Share. Go to
Browse Sources,
select 'Industries & Markets' and then 'Market Research
Reports', choose your sources,
click on
OK-Continue
and enter your search terms |
| |
|
| |
[Other
market report resources] |
|
...
ACCOUNTING & TAXATION
|
| |
International Accounting Standards (through CCH) |
| |
Full texts of International Accounting Standards,
International Financial Reporting Standards and related
materials as published by the IASCF. To access full texts,
select from HTML and Java options on top left hand side of
screen |
| |
|
| |
TaxFind |
| |
Database of the Irish Taxation Institute providing access to tax
publications, legislation, case law, articles and documentation.
Also accessible through
KPMG website.
For latest additions to TaxFind see
updates table
NB: Password access only. Go to Information
Desk for details |